Homemade Doughnuts

These biscuit doughnuts are to die for and a must try for anyone with a sweet tooth. I saw this idea on Pinterest a few months ago and have made these doughnuts twice since then, both times they were a hit.

All you really need to do is purchase non-flakey biscuits in the store (in the refrigerator section, I usually go for buttermilk or original), cut the centers out of them, and then fry in about 1 inch of canola oil.

I think the idea of doughnuts for dessert is such a cute idea and half the fun is deciding how to decorate them. I love going for the classic chocolate with sprinkles, and do a cinnamon/brown sugar one as well. Since I made these for Christmas Eve dessert I wanted to make sure they had some Christmas spirit so I smashed up candy canes to top some of them as well.

The best part: total prep/cooking/decorating time is less than 30 minutes, and no one will know you didn’t make them from scratch! If you’re looking to mix things up and impress your guests, this is the treat for you!

IMG_0838IMG_0844IMG_0845FullSizeRender 10IMG_0847FullSizeRender 9IMG_0850FullSizeRender 5FullSizeRender 8

Leave a comment